images
biography
images
exhibition
Sagarmatha
exhibition Pliage Cosmique
exhibition Point Nemo
  
Sagarmatha                   
1st March- 12 April 2008

David Renaud whose work examines the way geography is perceived and represented abstractly and concretely in map, relief, painting form, presents a personal exhibition from March 1st to April 12th in gallery anne barrault.
In the gallery space, a video, like a cloud of crimson
suns, is projected and lights up two white and large
reliefs : Mount Everest, (Sagarmatha, “ the front of the sky” in Sanskrit). Mount Everest: a geographical utopia, a nineteenth century dream which comes up in a paradoxical world the access to which is nowadays more and more trivial, busy, in which unknown areas move toward virtual territories.
But this mount is also like a geographical paragon linked to History and politics, its rivalries, its covetousness, a “record” space which can be felt through the figures and the picture painted by geography, more than through one's own physical experience.
Here, Monunt Everest stands as a pure object, made of wood painted white, rising like a minimalist peak where each slope becomes another variation echoing those of the moving bulbs of the video projected on the wall...Patterns are repeated and slowly go out of synchronization as with repetitive and psychedelic music.
You experiment the replica of the universe from an ambivalent point of view : you feel as if outside the landscape, rationally seen as a whole (you have an overall view as with a map), and at the same time, you are lost inside it (scales and captions disappear), as if in a “real” space, and therefore inevitably subjective.
The artificial side is emphasized : the circles of the video projection, these “Psycho reliefs” opening out and closing up, look like stars, but are not stars, the highest mountain in the world is reduced to a human scale, a nearly perfect setting, in which “nearly” is perhaps the answer.
The light and rhythm variations, the trace of a digital time passing on the mountain change our visual experience which, with each pulsation, alters the installation and the viewer's perception.

Félicoa Atkinson

vue of the exhibition at the galerie anne barrault
Mont Everest
, alt 8848 m
acrylic and wood, 150 x 150 x 200 cm
Mont Lhotse, alt. 8516 m
acrylic and wood, 150 x 150 x 183 cm

images
biographie
exposition Sagarmatha
exposition Pliage Cosmique
exposition Point Nemo
  
Sagarmatha                   
1er mars- 12 avril 2008

David Renaud, dont le travail questionne la perception de la géographie et sa représentation matérielle et abstraite sous forme de cartes, de reliefs ou de peintures, présente aujourd’hui une exposition personnelle à la galerie anne barrault.

Dans l’espace de la galerie, une vidéo telle une nuée de soleils pourpres éclaire par sa projection un grand relief  double et blanc: l’Everest,( Sagarmatha, « le front du ciel », en sanscrit). 

L’Everest: utopie géographique, rêve du XIX ème siècle, qui s’inscrit  dans le paradoxe d’un monde dont l’accès devient aujourd’hui de plus en plus banalisé, fréquenté, où les zones inconnues se déplacent vers des territoires virtuels.

Mais aussi, ce mont, comme un parangon géographique lié à l’Histoire et à la politique, à ses rivalités et ses convoitises. Un espace « record », que l’on perçoit à travers les chiffres et l’image que la géographie nous en donne, plus que par l’expérience physique que l’on peut en avoir.

Ici, l’Everest se tient en pur objet, réalisé en bois, peint en blanc, il surgit en un pic minimaliste où chaque dénivellation devient une variation supplémentaire, faisant écho à celles des bulbes mouvants de la vidéo qui se projette sur le mur… Des motifs se répètent et se décalent lentement, comme dans les musiques répétitives et psychédéliques.

Expérimenter la réplique de l’univers dans une ambivalence du point de vue : se sentir hors du paysage (on saisit une vue d’ensemble comme avec une carte), dans sa vision globale et rationnelle, et en même temps, être perdu à l’intérieur (les échelles et les légendes disparaissent), comme dans un espace «réel» et donc, forcément subjectif.

Accentuer l’artificialité : les cercles de la vidéo projection, ces «Psycho reliefs» qui s’ouvrent et se ferment, ressemblent à des étoiles mais n’en sont pas, la montagne la plus haute du monde est réduite à l’échelle de l’homme, en un décor presque parfait, où ce «presque»  serait peut - être la clé du mystère.

Les variations de lumière et de rythme, la marque du passage d’un temps numérique sur la montagne, détournent l’expérience visuelle, qui à chaque pulsation, transforme l’installation et  la perception du spectateur.

 Félicia Atkinson

 

vue de l'exposition à la galerie anne barrault
Mont Everest
, alt 8848 m
peinture acrylique, bois, 150 x 150 x 200 cm
Mont Lhotse, alt. 8516 m
peinture acrylique, bois, 150 x 150 x 183 cm